Final Fantasy V Four Job Fiesta 2014 Completion Photo Dump

junio 22, 2014 at 2:08 pm (Videogames & Vidcons) (, )

vlcsnap-2014-06-22-08h42m04s252

My third Four Job Fiesta, and my second victory.  This time, I attempted a Random Run–you’re given jobs taken from a pool of all job choices, instead of  just newly-available jobs–and while I enjoyed last year’s team more, this particular combination made the end game far less painful.

Dead

Main strategy: turning anyone into a Hermes Shoes-wearing Blue Mage, meaning that I could recover from any setbacks more or less painlessly.

Main strategy: turning everyone into a Hermes Shoes-wearing Blue Mage, meaning that I could recover from any setbacks more or less painlessly.

Krile, somewhat suprisingly, was my most consistent attacker.  The Gaia command apparently only ever activates Wind Slash, which does little damage but is consistent.

Krile, somewhat surprisingly, turned out my most reliable attacker. The Gaia command apparently only ever activates Wind Slash when used against Exdeath, and while it does relatively little damage– < 1000–it’s consistent, and works against all segments.  While the Gaia Bell is less consistent, its higher damage output when it does work makes it a good choice as well.

Red Mages have

Red Mages confer precisely one advantage in the Four Job Fiesta: being able to revive two fallen characters in a turn.  Fortunately, I managed to level up the Chicken Knife to its maximum capacity (Magic Pots are super-useful for this) which means I was semi-reliably doing 2000+ damage per turn with Faris, at least until…

 

Nobody expects the Spanish Inquisition!

Grand Cross left my character with an Old Status Effect.  It was during this battle that I realized two things: 1) the stat decreases remain even after you return your character to normal, and 2) they set in  *fast*, meaning that even after getting rid of the status effect almost immediately–by turning Faris into a suicide bomber–she eventually had nothing to offer.  Fortunately, this only happened late in the battle. So two advantages. 

Things I learned while fighting Exdeath:

Things I learned while fighting Exdeath: the Wonder Wand‘s spells aren’t entirely random–I got the same sequence of spells during my two battles with Exdeath–and…

the Magic Lamp, contrary to what I'd believed, is not a one-use item, but rather cycles through the list of summoned monsters in an apparently predictable manner--

the Magic Lamp, contrary to what I’d believed, is not a one-use item, but rather cycles through the list of summoned monsters in an apparently predictable manner–very useful, particularly since Lenna had no real viable offensive options and Odin reliably does a one-hit-kill to one of Exdeath’s segments.  Also, double-casting Libra is super-useful later in the battle, since it helps prevent the doomsday scenario where you’re left fighting only one Exdeath segment.

vlcsnap-2014-06-22-08h40m55s63

Poor, simple Percy.  In the end, his only contribution was his high HP, which meant that he was consistently the one in charge of healing the others.

 

In the end, I

Still, I’m grateful for getting Monk.  Even though the job only grows less useful as the game goes along, it does well enough during the first half of the game to make it a not-bad first job.

vlcsnap-2014-06-22-09h56m52s94

Responder

